June 15, 2011

Yes! Pretty Cure 5 – 27: Yes, it’s a DVD version

Posted in Releases, Yes Pretty Cure 5 at 5:53 am by zalis116

Thanks to the generous assistance of K-o-R of CureCom fame, we’re able to present DVD versions of this series. Here’s ep 27:

Torrent [CRC=B37C6BAF] || DDL

XDCC packlist for [PreCure]AllStars on #precure@irc.Rizon.net

Aside from better A/V quality, the main things you’ll notice are:

* Creditless OP/ED used (some OP credits and title are hardsubbed in).

* Mascots now have their own subtitle colors.

* Karaoke more in line with the audio, instead of being chained to the on-screen kanji/kana lyrics.

So enjoy. Hopefully future releases will flow more smoothly once we get used to this whole “working with people” thing.

29 Comments »

  1. Force Gaia said,

    DDL now up

  2. Juri said,

    Thanks for subbing Yes5 ^^.

    I ‘ve got a question.
    Will there be a rerelease from the other subbed episodes (1-26) as DVD-version like this one?

    • Force Gaia said,

      Maybe. That’s all I’m saying. We’re not decided yet.
      Scratch that, it seems we have decided

  3. CrimsonDX said,

    Id like to know the same thing as Juri. Or at least a torrent for a nice set of raws for 1-26 so some of us who want to can try to transcribe the Arienai/Aesir release ourselves.

    • K.o.R said,

      I believe Zalis and ForceGaia are planning to do all the episodes, but they will be concentrating on the unsubbed ones first.

    • zalis116 said,

      Plans to re-release earlier episodes are in the works.

      But there’s no need to transcribe Aesir’s releases, they did softsubs for 8-11 and 21-26. And ANFO did softsubs for 1-5. Only 6-7 and 12-20 need transcription, and it’s going to have to be of the “brute force” variety, as I don’t know of any easily-available non-English timed softsubs out there.

      But if you or anyone you know wants to transcribe a few episodes, I’d definitely welcome the help. Also, if anyone can post DDLs for the .ass files from ANFO’s 1-5 and Aesir’s 8-11, I’d appreciate it. (I already have 21-26.)

      • Juri said,

        Thanks for your answer.

      • Force Gaia said,

        i already said I’d do the brute force transcribing, as i can probably do it alongside the timing in aegisub

      • CrimsonDX said,

        Thank you for the info. When I said transcribing, I ment the brute force kind. I’ve actually done it to the first part of an episode of Tokyo Mew Mew, and I have “Way in the future” plans to try and do it for Tokyo Mew Mew and Ashita No Nadja. Since I have DVD raws that I found for both series.

      • CureBlossom said,

        I have Aesir’s 8 & 9 .ass files
        – Ep 8: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4VXQ76GY
        – Ep 9: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=26W5MGV7

  4. Mertal said,

    As far as Im concerned, 1-20 is well taken care of and don’t need redone:

    Yes Pretty Cure 5 – 1-10 HD: http://www.nyaa.eu/?page=torrentinfo&tid=111549

    Yes Pretty Cure 5 – 11-20 HD http://www.nyaa.eu/?page=torrentinfo&tid=111550

    All done by [Arienai] at higher resolution than the DVD rips.

    • Force Gaia said,

      not everyone can, or wants to, use HD video. Zalis doesn’t, and I’ve got a few friends who don’t either. I’m OK with HD, but we’re providing a service to those who can’t

      • Epyon said,

        I’m one of those that can’t use HD, so I’m very thankful for non-HD releases. =3

    • zalis116 said,

      True, Arienai did release those in 1280×720 (and nice space-conserving 640×360 100 MB files). But according to some comments made on Aesir’s blog (can’t find them atm), there’s virtually no difference between 480p and 720p for this show. Plus, Arienai’s releases, while good, were 100% hardsubbed, and had some subtitling errors. That’s why I think they’re worthy of re-release. But since they are pretty good quality, they will be lower-priority, and not on a parallel/alternating release schedule like with Splash Star.

      On another note, 1280×720 files that are 100% hardsubbed are much less demanding on old PCs than typical “kara/signs hardsubbed, dialogue softsubbed” or 100% softsubbed releases. They run almost as easily as SD releases on my system.

      • Desbreko said,

        >But according to some comments made on Aesir’s blog (can’t find them atm), there’s virtually no difference between 480p and 720p for this show.

        Comments from people who don’t know what they’re talking about, apparently. There’s a huge difference between 720p and 480p for this show, provided the 720p is from a decent source. Arienai’s 720p are significantly better than the DVDs, but they have the downside of being hard-subbed.

        I’m still up for encoding new 720p versions if we can get a hold of those HDTV raws we were going to use before, btw. You know if DmonHiro still has those?

      • Aetheron said,

        First of all, THANK YOU PCSS for starting up on PC5. The curse WILL be broken with you!

        I wanted to know if you had any plans to also release this in 720p, assuming 720p raws are available. Heck, I’d mux 720p encodes myself if I had the raws.

        720p or not, thanks again for subbing YP5.

  5. Precure5 Fan said,

    I think I’m doing something wrong. Every time I download either link, I get the KMP player, and i don’t get the colors. Help?

    • Force Gaia said,

      I had this problem, as the KMPlayer is my player of choice too.

      In Options -> Subtitle Processing, select the Avanced tab.
      Then in the “External Subtitle Module” make sure the following are checked:
      – Enable
      – Render in real time
      – Keep the relative position of subtitles within video frame

      Force user’s font setting should be unchecked.

      You’ll also need to make sure that the Aspect ratio in Left Click->Screen controls, is set to “Keep display aspect ratio”

      A word of warning though, the subs will look a little squashed due to measures that needed taken due to us using anamorphic encodes (which the KMPlayer takes too seriously), but they’re still readable.

      • Precure5 Fan said,

        Many thanks!

  6. Desbreko said,

    The encode is full of IVTC errors. =/


    • K.o.R said,

      It’s a hard-telecined anime DVD. It’s nigh *impossible* for any automated filter to correctly IVTC anime because there simply is not enough movement in most frames for it to hit the “threshold” of being a combed frame. Case in point, your first picture there. Karen’s mouth is the ONLY thing moving in that frame and this accounts for (probably far far) less than 0.5% of the frame, hence the filter doesn’t “notice” it.

      You’re quite welcome to try manually IVTCing these DVDs but I guarantee you will be there for at *least* a year or three.

      Or, complain to Toei and MMV and get them to produce proper 24p material instead of hard telecining it to hell and back.

      • Desbreko said,

        I’ve encoded a lot of hard-telecined DVDs, and very few have had this many bad field matches even just with automated filters. What IVTC filters are you using? Use TIVTC’s tfm() and tdecimate() if you’re not already.

        If you want to send me an ISO, I’ll see what I can do with it.

  7. Belarus said,

    so this is the sub thingy
    niccce

  8. what do you use to play it on a macbook pro?

  9. Kri said,

    I downloaded the Torrent [CRC=B37C6BAF] but it doesnt have any subs. Am I doing something wrong?

  10. Kri said,

    Thank You!
    But which one do I download to get the subs (I already downloaded one of them but there werent any subs D: )


Leave a Reply

