June 11, 2011

Yes! Pretty Cure 5 – 27 – I ain’t afraid of no ghosts

Posted in Releases, Yes Pretty Cure 5 at 5:15 am by zalis116

Yes, Komachi, yes it is.

Some of you may have been expecting this, but recent events convinced me to drag the PCSS label out of mothballs and sub some more Pretty Cure. Luckily, PCSS is no longer a 1-man team, as Force_Gaia has offered his tireless labor on timing and various other fansubbing tasks. This episode of Yes! Pretty Cure 5 features the gang exploring the haunted old school house, although Rin proves most reluctant. Will she stick around and fight against Nightmare for a Scooby Snack?

Torrent [CRC=6BCFDAE2]   ||  Raw || Patch:

(if you can grab the raw and patch it, please help seed)

Some technical notes on the release:

This release is a remux with the old l33t-raws TV-rip .avis. As such, it’s 704×396/DivX6.51/mp3, and not terribly high quality. But as I said on nyaa, now that the most difficult tasks of translation and timing are complete, the way is open for others to remux with better-quality sources. (You can find scripts here if you don’t want to DL these .mkvs.)

In general, I tried to maintain consistency with the Arienai releases of eps 1-20, in terms of fonts, colors, styles, and rendering of common phrases. If there is a curse on this show, I’m hoping I can break it. In fact, you can look forward to a few more eps in short order, because this is their status:

28: In QC || 29: Timed, not TLed || 30-33: Timed and TLed, awaiting edit/QC || 34: partially TLed || 35+: to be pretimed

Edit by Force Gaia: Just to let you know that the wonderful K-o-R has offered to encode some DVD raws for us, so as soon as we have them we’ll be using them rather then the TV raws we’re currently using. We also plan to make a v2 of 27 using the new raw when we get around to it.

46 Comments »

  1. Kyral said,

    Then let me be one of the first to thank you for subbing this.
    Thank you very much! 😀

  2. Xanth said,

    Even in a world full of an ever-growing number of combat-skirt-clad Pretty Cure heroes, you’ll always be my hero, zalis, for cutting a blazing trail through these series that have for so long been dogged by a lack of subs and mired in the queasy swamp of terminally slow subs. If you work even only half as fast on translation as you did on Splash Star then that would still be like a ten fold increase on the current expectations otherwise.

  3. dood said,

    It is indeed exciting that you (and the other one) have chosen to finally tackle this uncompleted beast.

    I loved what you did with Splash Star so I’m sure Yes5 will be of the most excellent quality.

    Thanks.

  4. Monique C. said,

    Thank you! 😀

  5. nijikun said,

    Wow! Thanks for Yes PC! *-*

  6. Mertal said,

    Yay! Thank you!

  7. Mana said,

    I’m so happy about this news. Thank you so much. ❤

  8. davidsama said,

    Good job.

  9. nijikun said,

    Please! Break the Curse of this show! >w<

  10. Kimikoiko said,

    Ooh, nice to see you back in action, Zalis 🙂

    Are you working on this together with Æsir (who did eps.25 and 26)?

    • Force Gaia said,

      Æsir is dead, check their homepage.
      It was that group’s closure that spurred us into action

  11. Lucia said,

    I’m so happy you’ve done this! But is it possible for someone to tell me how to patch the raw?

    • Force Gaia said,

      you and me both, zalis gave em the patch to try and help seed it, but it wouldn’t work with the GUI i used.
      You’re best off torrenting the MKV

  12. precurejunkie said,

    YAY!!!

  13. I download the torrent, But all I’m getting is the RAW….What am I doing wrong? ='(

    • Force Gaia said,

      try clicking on “Torrent [CRC=6BCFDAE2]” rather than “Raw” as that will give the mkv with subs.
      If the subs don’t appear check your media player and codecs. I can assure you that it works with the CCCP and Media Player Classic Home Cinema, and the KMplayer (although you have to twiddle a few settings with the KMplayer)

  14. K.o.R said,

    Yay, go Zalis and forcegaia.

    I have DVD raws if you want them.

  15. Ichigo69 said,

    [17:20:38] Zalis is a pretty cool guy, yeah translates Yes! Precure 5, Releases without me and doesn’t afraid of anything – [PCSS] Yes Pretty Cure 5 – 27 [6BCFDAE2].mkv – /MSG [PreCure]AllStars XDCC SEND 218

    • Force Gaia said,

      he’s got your address now, he said he’ll talk to you, and i think he’s read the IRC logs so he knows what’s awaiting him

    • Force Gaia said,

      if zalis actually tells to before the next release and you can get it on the bot quickly I’ll be able to put the send command into the release post

  16. Epyon said,

    Thank you so much Zalis (and Force_Gaia) for continuing Y!PC5. ❤

  17. AWJ said,

    My favorite Pretty Cure series is in good hands.

  18. Jingles said,

    You’re our last hope…thank you, thank you so much.

    BREAK THE CURSE

  19. Astrumerus said,

    Hi Zalis,
    I was wondering if I could be of help at all with YPC5? I do everything from Karaoking to timing and editing. Basically everything except translating. Magenta told me to ask.

  20. kirios said,

    thanks for the episode 😀

  21. darkcat1 said,

    again like everyone else I’d like to tank you for doing this. Many people think Yes! pretty Cure 5 is cursed because no one can finish the project. Here’s hoping you totally destroy that cures and I’ll finally get to see that last 20-30 episodes.

    • Force Gaia said,

      we won’t destroy cures, it’d put us out of the job, we’ll break the curse though

  22. Mertal said,

    I just watched ep 27, and wanted you to know I really appreciate that you decided to color the fonts like Arienai did. it really makes it easy to understand who is saying what.

    I wish Aesir had taken the effort to continue this practice, but beggars cant be choosers and all that.

    And one more time, THANK YOU!

    It made me really happey this is being continued!

    • Force Gaia said,

      well i tired to push to get the mascots with their own colours, but Zalis was having none of it; as in the arienai releases of ypc5 they didn’t then, so i thought, “ok makes sense”

  23. demonraiser said,

    Yes! Fansubber Five!

    Five is the lucky number, there’s no way you can fail. I wonder, though… are you actually the fifth attempt at completing Pretty Cure 5? Nonetheless, considering your previous track record with Splash Star, I think you’re destined to pick up unfinished projects and set them on the path of finished glory.

    A small, mainly older male otaku group of about ~100 people are counting on you, once again. I wish you the best of luck.

    • Force Gaia said,

      well by my count we are: Arienai, Eggplant, Anfo, Aesir, us

      • Ekky said,

        Should you count TV-Nihon separately, or is it more like TV-Nihon/Aesir?

        Anyhow, thank you very much for this.

  24. CrimsonDX said,

    All hail PCS subs! May you have better luck than your predecessors 😀

    • CrimsonDX said,

      I actually now have hope that this series will be completed. I actually refused to watch the Aesir release cause I honestly didn’t know if they where serious. Given that you completed Splash Star and seem to be a person dedicated to the jobs you take I have much more faith. Time to go watch the two Aesir eps I’ve had sitting on my HDD 😀

  25. SrarCatcher said,

    OMG OMG OMG OMG! THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH FOR CONTINUING THIS SERIES!!!!! After Aesir closed I thought that was the end to the Y!PC5… But I seem to have been proven wrong. Thank you soo much!

    P.S. if you would need help if anything please let me know. I would LOVE to help. Thank you. pcssubs is my new heros 😀

  26. mitamaking said,

    Oh good, maybe I will be able to see all the series.

  27. Zebra said,

    Wow, thank you Zalis!

    (And of all the things to give me a warm fuzzy feeling, it’s seeing the “ain’ts” in the ED.)

  28. Force Gaia said,

    @Ekky, well TV-Nihon and Aesir were the same guys. They just carried on the work they did with T-N under the Aesir banner when they split off after having an argument with T-N’s leader

  29. Peter Fan said,

    Thank you so much for doing this !!! XD

    I just have a quick question since I’m new to this; only 1-24 have been subbed by you so far as well as 27 right ? What about 25 and 26 ? Have they been released as well ?

    • Force Gaia said,

      Aesir subs did a couple of new ones (25 & 26). A link to their site is in the sidebar. Although the most reliable way to get them are from the IRC bot in #precure.

      This is release is also out of date, as if you look higher on our page you’ll see we’ve done a better quality DVD release.

      • Peter Fan said,

        Oh ok, I just realized that the 2 latest episodes that I have are 25 and 26 from A.S. ~ so to continue the collection I would just download 27 and onwards from here right ?

        And my previous collection was 1-7 by TV-N and 8- 24 from Ae-Sir, should I just delete those and download the 1-24 from here since they’re more updated ?

  30. Force Gaia said,

    The 1-24 currently on here aren’t ours, they’re a re-release of the “original” fansub of YPC5 by arienai and eggplant. It’s arienai’s style we’re emulating with these new releases, but with a few updates.

    We will re-release 1-26 in our own style eventually, along with the consistent raws and style. But tat will only come after we’ve got to the end, as we see getting to the end more as a priority then being completionists

    • Peter Fan said,

      I see, thanks for clearing things up for me 😉 and keep up the great job ! ~


Leave a Reply

