September 30, 2009

Sugar Sugar Rune (46)

Posted in Off-Topic at 10:13 am by zalis116

LOLSubbing at its finest.

LOLSubbing at its finest.

So, this isn’t Pretty-Cure-related. But I thought I’d post about it anyway, seeing as it’s another fansub project I’ve been working on. Sugar Sugar Rune is a Magical Girl series produced by Studio Pierrot (Saiyuki, Naruto, Bleach)  and is based on a manga by Moyoco Anno. It started in the summer of 2005, and ran for 51 episodes.

I like to describe SSR as “the ultimate hangover cure,” as I first discovered it on the Sunday morning of an anime convention in a video room. While it does suffer from a lot of filler and an anime-original ending that manga fans are sure to dislike, it’s a very pretty, charming, heartwarming series. Plus, it’s got antagonists that aren’t “Teh Eval Power” (sorry Precure). Actually, there is a connection to Precure — Ayaka Saito, who plays Minori Hyuuga, can be found playing another bratty little girl in SSR. (Incidentally, Saito also plays Momiji Sohma in Fruits Basket, Honey-senpai in Ouran High School Host Club, Tomoka in Girls Bravo, and in a non-loli role, Micchan from Eden of the East.)

And guess what? Sugar Sugar Rune is  almost completely fansubbed, after 3+ years. After lamenting the incompleteness, I joined up with SunFlowerSubs to work on it as of episode 33. When the other members of SFS became unable to continue, the fine folks at Hatsuyuki stepped up to help me with episodes 40-51. Episode 46 has just been released, and you can poke around Hatsu’s site to acquire earlier episodes. All the remaining episodes have been translated, so they’ll be out once the other fansubbing steps are completed.

3 Comments »

  1. Anonymous said,

    Cool! Shoujo series is my favorite =^_^=

  2. Epyon said,

    Thanx a lot for subbing SSR, that’s one of my favourite mahou shoujo animes. ❤ I was afraid it would never get subbed to the end (like Pretty Cure seasons 3,4,5 and Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch), so I'm really glad you are working on it. *bows*

    • angela said,

      Tell me because I speak Spanish and English is not just a little and almost nothing I can see


Leave a Reply

